Chocolate – Healthy – Low Calorie : The Greatest Combination That Ever Was

I have a sweet tooth.  I blame genetics, so it’s obviously not my fault when I accidentally eat an entire tin of brownies.  This is my DNA.

Because of this genetic mutation I am burdened with, I am always looking for ways to eat dessert without my bum showing that I eat quite so much dessert.  Chocolatecoveredkatie.com, the healthy dessert blog, has been the greatest discovery I’ve ever made in this mission (well, this blog and a treadmill, but that makes for a far less interesting blog).

I’ve tried so many of her recipes – some are overly complicated (attempting to find xylitol at a grocery store), some are a bit odd (the bean dip brownie debacle), but most are downright delicious.  I recommend checking out this awesome blog, but I’ll let you in on my absolute favorite of Katie’s recipes: The Healthy Chocolate Chip Blondies.

photo courtesy of chocolatecoveredkatie.com

photo courtesy of chocolatecoveredkatie.com

These blondies can be made with only ingredients found in a normal grocery store and are delicious! Everyone who I’ve forced these upon love them.  They’ve actually lovingly come to be known among my friends as “CCK’s” as a tribute to chocolatecoveredkatie.com.

CCK’s Genius Chocolate-Chip Blondies

(makes an 8×8 pan)

  • 1 1/2 cups chickpeas or white beans (1 can, drained and rinsed) (250g after draining)
  • 3/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/8 tsp baking soda
  • level 1/4 tsp salt
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup quick oats (20g)
  • 1/4 cup peanut butter (see nutrition link below, for lower-cal options)
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Blend all ingredients (except chips) until very smooth in a good food processor (not a blender). Mix in chips, and scoop into a greased (or tinfoil-lined) 8×8 pan. Optional: for “prettiness” you can stick some chocolate chips on top of the batter as well. Bake for around 30 minutes. They’ll look a little undercooked when you take them out, but they firm up as they cool, and you don’t want them to get hard.

View Blondie Nutrition Info

photo courtesy of chocolatecoveredkatie.com

photo courtesy of chocolatecoveredkatie.com

Thank you Katie for inspiring me to keep on feeding the monster that is my dessert addiction!

Leave a Reply

