To Pack or Not to Pack

I find that one of the most stressful things about traveling is figuring out how to get everything you want to pack into a suitcase that fits within the inane baggage guidelines that most airlines abide by these days.  I’ve bought suitcases touting lightweight frames, bag scales for “expert” pre-airport planning and always carry a massive expandable carry-on bag for emergency situations.

However, no matter how hard I try, I always end up being that girl in the airport that’s frantically repacking her suitcases after the check-in person has informed me that all my bags are over the 50 pound weight limit. Why don’t they have a special room for all the poor travelers like me? Nobody wants to see my socks and hair products all over the floor of the airport.

Or worse, the terrible feeling only experienced in the boarding line for Ryanair when they finally noticed that the bag I’d been slipping passed them on so many flights doesn’t fit in the horrible suitcase measuring device.  So, I’m prohibited from boarding their glorified flying Greyhound bus until I’ve forked over the equivalent of a mortgage for them to check the darn thing. Yep, I’ve been there.

My packing at work - There's a suitcase under there...

My packing at work – There’s a suitcase under there…

To say the very least, I could learn a thing or two from this GaranceDore.fr post on how to pack like a pro for an entire month of traveling across 9 cities.

If I learn to pack better, can someone fly me to all these cities? Deal…?

Leave a Reply

